

REPUBLIC OF THE MARSHALL ISLANDS OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

MAJURO, MARSHALL ISLANDS

Cabinet Decision 2025 – 013- 017 January 27, 2025 Majuro, Marshall Islands [English Version]

Cabinet Decisions

On Thursday January 23, 2025, the Cabinet made the following five (5) decisions:

- 1. Approved the ratification of the Agreement under the 1982 United Nations Convention of the Law of Sea (1982 UNCLOS) on the Conservation and Sustainable use of Marine Biology Diversity of areas Beyond National Jurisdiction (the BBNJ Agreement) pursuant to Article V, Section 1 (3)(d) of the Constitution.
 - Authorized the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade to introduce a resolution in the Nitijela seeking Nitijela approval and the ratification of the BBNJ Agreement; and upon such ratification by the Nitijela.
 - Authorized the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade to deposit said instrument with the Secretary General of the United Nations (UN), in accordance with Article 306 of the 1982 UNCLOS.
- 2. Approved a Resolution conveying the condolences and sincerest gratitude of the People of the Republic of the Marshall Islands to the family and friends of late and former Minister/Ambassador Phillip H. Muller; and authorized the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade to introduce said Resolution to the Nitijela.
- 3. Approved to ratify through the Nitijela process of the Amendments of the 2024 and 2016 to the Treaty on Fisheries between the Governments of Certain Pacific Islands States and the US Government.
- 4. Approved the proposed amendments to the Title 35 of the Marshall Islands Revised Code (MIRC), the Protected Area Network (PAN) 2015, by amending Section 516, 519, and 520 of the PAN Act.
- 5. Appointed a New Changed Circumstances Working Committee as followed:

<u>Changed Circumstances Petition Steering Committee:</u>

- Co-Chairs Ambassador Charles Paul and Presidential Envoy for Nuclear Justice and Human Rights David Anitok;
- Secretary Isabela Silk, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade;
- DPR Samuel Lanwi Jr., Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade;
- Chairperson Ariana Tibon-Kilma, Chairperson National Nuclear Commission;
- Commissioner Dr. Holly Barker, National Nuclear Commission;



REPUBLIC OF THE MARSHALL ISLANDS OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

MAJURO, MARSHALL ISLANDS

- Commissioner Alson Kelen, National Nuclear Commission;
- Ms. Florence Edwards, MIMRA Deputy Director (Environment)
- Presidential Envoy Dr. Wilfren Alik, MOHHS (Health)
- Dr. Neal Palafox, Health;
- Mrs. Ellen Milne-Paul, Senior Country Officer ADB (Finance);
- Mrs. Leimamo Wase-Chock, MPH (Health); and
- Secretariat, National Nuclear Commission.

Legal Team:

- Mr. Julian Aguon, Blue Ocean Law (Lead);
- Mr. Johnathan Kawakami, Deputy Attorney General;
- Mr. Greg Danz, MOFAT Legal Advisor; and
- Mr. Augustine Sokimi, MOFAT Legal Advisor.

Environment Experts:

Florence Edwards to coordinate the group of environmental experts and channel reports from the environment group to the CCP Steering Committee.

- Dr. Arjun Makhijani;
- Dr. Ivana Hughes; and
- Dr. Ken Buesseler;

Health Experts:

Leimamo Wase-Chock to coordinate the group of health experts and channel reports from the health group to the CCP steering committee.

- Hali Robinet:
- Virginia Rowthorn; and
- Dr. Tillman Ruff.

Advisory Panel:

- 4 Atolls representatives from Nitijela;
- Senator Dennis Momotaro, Mid-range; and
- Speaker or designee.

//End/