

REPUBLIC OF THE MARSHALL ISLANDS OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

MAJURO, MARSHALL ISLANDS

Cabinet Decision 2024 - 112-134 June 24, 2024 Majuro, Marshall Islands [English Version]

Cabinet Decisions

On Thursday May 2, 2024, the Cabinet reappointed for a term of two (2) years Dr. Elizabeth Switaj, CMI Vice President of Academic Affairs as Chairperson for the Teacher Standard and Licensing Board (TSLB), and Ms. Yolanda McKay representing the University of South Pacific; and appointed the following individuals to serve a term of two (2) years:

- Mr. Junior Paul, Public School System (PSS) Acting Commissioner
- Chairperson, National Board of Education
- Ms. Sandy Konelios, PSS Human Resources
- Pastor Elmer Lang, Private Schools representative
- Ms. Kairin Dribo, Private School representative
- Ms. Aunako Sormile, Teacher Representative

Furthermore, the Cabinet appointed Mr. Kenneth Fernando as a representative for school administrators on May 16, 2024.

On Thursday May 9, 2024, the Cabinet approved the temporary removal of bumps including but not limited to those located in front of Delap Elementary School, Assumption School, Marshall Islands High School and the College of the Marshall Islands, the speed bumps in the Rairok Community, and Amata Kabua International Airport starting May 15, 2024. These speed bumps will be eliminated through the Micronesian Games 2024.



REPUBLIC OF THE MARSHALL ISLANDS OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

MAJURO, MARSHALL ISLANDS

On Thursday May 16, 2024, the Cabinet approved the request to establish the two (2) New Positions of Security Guard for the Ministry of Finance, Banking and Postal Services:

On Thursday May 23, 2024, the Cabinet made the following decisions:

- 1. Approved the establishment of the National Budget Coordinating Committee and Matters related.
 - Noted the Public Financial management Act, 2023, the RMI Budget Coordinating Committee (BCC) members as follow:
 - a. Chief Secretary, Chairperson;
 - b. Secretary of Finance, Vice Chairperson;
 - c. Secretary of Works, Infrastructure, and Utilities, member;
 - d. Secretary of Foreign Affairs and Trade, member;
 - e. Representative from the Office of the President, member;
 - f. Attorney General, member;
 - g. Representative of the Public Service Commission, member;
 - h. Director of Economic Policy, Planning and Statistics Office (EPPSO), member; and;
 - i. Other members as appointed by Cabinet
 - Designated the Ministry of Finance, Banking and Postal Services to serve as the BCC Secretariat.
- 2. Approved the request to Cabinet to approve RMI endorsing the Fossil Fuel Non-Proliferation Treaty Initiative
 - Approved RMI joining other Pacific island nations in endorsing the call for a Fossil Fuel Non-Proliferation Treaty Initiative during the 4th International Conference on Small Islands Developing States (SIDS4).



REPUBLIC OF THE MARSHALL ISLANDS OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

MAJURO, MARSHALL ISLANDS

On Thursday May 30, 2024, the Cabinet made the following two decisions:

- 1. Approved the full disbursement of the Non Resident Workers (fee) Collection as stipulated under the Non Resident Workers (Fee) Act of 1987 under section 203A sub-section 1 and 2 to support uprising training initiatives for the National Training council.
- 2. Approved the transfer of Economic Advisor Mr. Niuatui Niuatui from the Office of the Chief Secretary to the Ministry of Finance, Banking and Postal Services.

//End//