

REPUBLIC OF THE MARSHALL ISLANDS OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

MAJURO, MARSHALL ISLANDS

Cabinet Decisions 2024 - 021-046 February 28, 2024 Majuro, Marshall Islands [English Version]

Cabinet Decisions

On Wednesday February 7, 2024, the Cabinet made the following 3 decisions:

- 1. The Cabinet extended the declaration of the State of Environmental Disaster of the Coconut Rhinoceros Beetle (CRB) on Majuro atoll for another 90 days.
- 2. The Cabinet reappointment and replacement of the College of the Marshall Islands (CMI) Board of Regents.
 - a. Reappointed Board of Regents are Ms. Kino Kabua, Mr. Julius Lucky, Mr. Nimata Nakamura, Ms. Salome Andrike, Ms. Marie Maddison, Ms. Kathryn Relang, Mr. Benjamin Wakefield, CMI Student Body Government (SBG) President Mr. Marlin Doulatram
 - b. Newly appointed Board of Regents are Mr. Jelton Anjain, Mr. Melet Jatios & Mr. Joe Lomae
- 3. The Cabinet Adopted the promulgation of the *Standard Operating Procedures for National Law Enforcement on Victim Identification, Investigation, Protection, and Referral of Trafficking in Persons Cases 2023* (the "Trafficking SOPs.")

On Friday February 16, 2024, the Cabinet made the following 6 decisions:

- 1. ...appointed the following individuals as Board Members of the National Training Council (NTC):
 - a. Ministry of Education, Sports & Training Public School System Acting Commissioner Mr. Junior Paul as the Chairperson
 - b. Economic Policy, Planning, and Statistics Office Ms. Eseta Cama
 - c. College of the Marshall Islands Dr. Elizabeth Switaj
 - d. Two members of the general public Mr. Halston deBrum & Mr. Briney Ishoda
 - e. Majuro Chamber of Commerce Mr. Daniel Kramer
 - f. University of the South Pacific (USP) RMI Campus Ms. Yolanda Mckay
 - g. Private Schools Mr. Kazutoyo Wase
 - h. Ebeye Ms. Sonya Tagoilelagi



REPUBLIC OF THE MARSHALL ISLANDS OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

MAJURO, MARSHALL ISLANDS

- 2. ...Approved the supplement to the lunch program to cover the increase of price per plate \$3 for the months of February May and August September.
 - 3.. ...Appointed three new Board of Directors for Marshall Islands Marine Resources Authority (MIMRA)
 - a. Honorable David Kramer
 - b. Honorable Dennis Momotaro and
 - c. Mr. Tony Paul
- 4. ...approved the establishment of the Coordinating Committee for the Constitution Day 2024 Anniversary Celebrations:
 - a. Secretary of Culture & Internal Affairs Chairperson
 - Secretary of Foreign Affairs & Trade or designee Vice Chairperson for Program & Protocol
 - c. Secretary of Finance, Banking & Postal Services or designee Budget & Procurement
 - d. Secretary of Works, Utilities, & Infrastructure or designee Ground & Set up
 - e. Secretary of Transportation, Communication, & Information Technology designee Logistics Transportation & Parade
 - f. Secretary of Health & Human Services Health & Emergency
 - g. Secretary of Natural Resources & Commerce or designee member
 - h. Commissioner of Public School System or designee Sports
 - i. Director of Waan Aelon in Majol (WAAM) Canoe race or other traditional sports
 - j. Commissioner of Marshall Islands Police Department (MIPD) or designee Security & Safety
 - k. Representative of the Marshall Islands Mayor Association (MIMA) Member
 - 1. Representative designee from the Office of the Chief Secretary Member
 - m. Clerk of Council of Iroij Member
 - n. Clerk of Nitijela or designee Member
 - o. Office of the President & Cabinet designee Member
 - p. 4-atolls Representative Mr. Glen Lewis Member
- 5.. ...appointed the following individuals to the Marshall Islands Postal Services Board of Directors:
 - a. Shem Levai Chairperson
 - b. Ayako Yamaguchi-Eliou Director
 - c. Anram Chichi Kemem Director
 - d. Aaron Langinlur Director
 - e Maria Lanwi-Nathan Director



REPUBLIC OF THE MARSHALL ISLANDS OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

MAJURO, MARSHALL ISLANDS

On Wednesday February 21, 2024, the Cabinet made the following 4 decisions:

- 1. ... Established the Taskforce on Deportees and here are the following:
 - a. Senator Marie Milne, Chairperson;
 - b. Attorney General or designee;
 - c. Police Commissioner or designee;
 - d. Secretary of Foreign Affairs & Trade;
 - e. Sheriff, Majuro Atoll Local Government;
 - f. Division of Immigration Director or designee;
 - g. Dr. Holden Nena, Ministry of Health & Human Services
 - h. Representative from the International Organization for Migration (IOM) subject to its procedures;
 - i. Mr. Capelle Antibas as the Representative from Kwajalein; and
 - j. Mr. Riem Simon as the Representative for Deportees
- 2. ...Approved the two resolutions regarding the Republic of the Marshall Islands' support to the Republic of China (Taiwan's) inclusion in the United Nations and resolution reaffirming unwavering support for and commitment to the bilateral relations with the Government and people of the Republic of China (Taiwan) commitment to the Republic of China (Taiwan) and acknowledging the 26th anniversary of diplomatic relations.
- 3. ...Appointed the following as RMI Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Board of Directors:
 - a. Mrs. Emma Kabua-Tibon, Chairperson
 - b. Mr. Reginald White
 - c. Mayor of Kwajalein designee Councilman Anthony Maika
 - d. Mayor of Majuro designee Councilman Jina David
 - e. Attorney General Bernard Adiniwin
- 4. ...Approved the creation of a new post: National Security Director within the Office of the President.

On February 26, 2024, the Cabinet made the following 3 decisions:

- 1. ...Approved the Bill to amend the import duties Act 1989, Section 227 (1-4), from funding supplement for College of the Marshall Islands (CMI) to funding supplement for Ministry of Education, Sports, and Training & Ministry of Health & Human Services.
- 2. ... Approved the FY2024 Supplemental Budget.



REPUBLIC OF THE MARSHALL ISLANDS OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

MAJURO, MARSHALL ISLANDS

- 3. ...Appointed the following seven (7) individuals to the Majuro Atoll Waste Company (MAWC) Board of Directors:
 - a. Minister-in-Assistance to the President and Environment, Chairperson
 - b. Secretary of Public Works, Infrastructure, & Utilities, Member
 - c. Moriana Philip. Member
 - d. Margaret Alee Biglar, Member
 - e. Woja Councilman Randy Jack, Member
 - f. Kenneth Kramer, Member
 - g. Nicodemus Anuntak, Member

//End//