

REPUBLIC OF THE MARSHALL ISLANDS OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

MAJURO, MARSHALL ISLANDS

Cabinet Decisions 2024 - 009-020 February 6, 2024 Majuro, Marshall Islands [English Version]

Cabinet Decisions

On Wednesday January 24, 2024, Cabinet declared a State of Emergency for the power situation in Majuro; and enabled the Cabinet and Government to take extraordinary measures to stabilize the power in Majuro. *Read the Declaration here*

□ Executive Order SOE MEC

On Thursday January 25, 2024, Cabinet made the following 5 decisions:

- 1. Move the 5% Public School Preventive Maintenance Funds allocated under the compact funds of the Ministry of Public Works, Infrastructure & Utilities Preventive Maintenance Unit (MWIU/PMU) to the Ministry of Education, Sports & Training Public School System (MOEST-PSS).
- 2. Re-appointed both the Honorable J. Michael Seabright, United States District Court Judge for the District of Hawaii and the Honorable Richard Seeborg, United States District Judge for the Northern District of California as Associate Justices of the Supreme Court. Authorized the Minister of Justice, Immigration & Labor, Honorable Wisely Zachras to introduce said Resolution to the Nitijela.
- 3. Approved the Coordinating Committee for the Festival of Pacific Arts and Culture to be held in Honolulu 2024 as follows;
 - a. Ministry of Culture & Internal Affairs (MOCIA) Secretary as Chairperson
 - b. Ministry of Natural Resources & Commerce (MONRC) Secretary as Vice Chairperson
 - c. Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Trade (MOFAT) Secretary as member
 - d. Council of Iroij (COI) Clerk as member
 - e. Office of Commerce, Investment & Tourism (OCIT), CEO Carlos Domnick as member
 - f. Alele Museum Director Wisse Amram as member



REPUBLIC OF THE MARSHALL ISLANDS OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

MAJURO, MARSHALL ISLANDS

- g. Waan Aelon in Majel (WAM) Director Alson Kelen as member
- h. Marshall Islands Marine Resources Authority (MIMRA) representative as member
- i. Tobolar Marketing Director, Briney Ishoda as member
- j. Marshall Islands Mayor Association (MIMA) representative as member
- k. NGO Jo Jikum Kathy Jetnil-Kijiner as member
- 1. Amimono Association representative as member and
- m. Women United Together in the Marshall Islands WUTMI representative as member
- 4. Approved of a Resolution Conveying the Condolence and Sincerest Gratitude of the People and Government of the Republic of the Marshall Islands to the family and friends of Ambassador Phillip Kemilan Kabua.
- 5. Prioritized the request for urgent funding assistance to purchase new standby generators for the National Broadcaster Radio Marshalls V7AB.

On Thursday February 1, 2024, Cabinet made the following 2 decisions:

- 1. Re-appointed and appointed the following members on the Marshall Islands Scholarship, Grant and Loan Board (MISGLB)
 - a. Mrs. Jennifer Fowler-Hawley
 - b. Mrs. Jasmine Loeak-Myazoe
 - c. Ms. Teri Elbon
 - d. Ms. Diane Peter, Scholarship Director (non-voting member)
 - a. Honorable Senator Daisy Alik-Momotaro
 - b. Mr. Odrikawa Jatios
 - c. Dr. Yukiko Muller
 - d. Dr. Dustin Batol
- 2. Endorsed of the Fiscal Year 2024 Distribution breakdown of the annual grant funds for 24-Local Governments:
 - a. ROC-NIEDF (Neighboring Islands Economic Development Fund) -\$1.200,000.00

b. General Fund NIEDF - \$300,000.00 c. Community Development Fund - \$1,000,000.00 d. Local Government Fund (LGF) - \$611,223.00 e. Grant-In-Aid - \$241,935.00



REPUBLIC OF THE MARSHALL ISLANDS OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

MAJURO, MARSHALL ISLANDS

//End//